Dirk van Gelder prints for sale

We are pleased to present this selection of fine prints by the celebrated Dutch artist, Dirk van Gelder. His prints are rare even in Holland today as his edition sizes were usually quite small. He excelled in lithography, etching and wood engraving and was also a superb watercolor painter. In conjunction with the 100th anniversary of the artist's birth, a catalogue raisonne was published in 2007 by the Gemeentemuseum in The Hague, Netherlands. This book is referenced below.

Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist always maintained close ties to The Hague: His father was the founder of the Gemeentemuseum and Director there from 1912-1941. Furthermore, the artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984.

Nature was van Gelder's main source of inspiration. In the tradition of Durer and inspired by the 19th century romantics, he carefully and methodically observed what he etched and the results are really quite remarkable. Landscapes, plant and flower studies, birds and assorted garden creatures are all part of his repertoire. Even typography became important when he was focusing on his many ex libris designs produced in wood engraving. Dirk van Gelder was a printmaker extraordinaire and we are pleased to offer several examples of his work.

(Keep in mind; the images on this site are low resolution images produced out of necessity. The actual works of art are far more detailed and exacting than our on-line images suggest. We welcome any inquiry you may have.)

Reference:
Dirk van Gelder (1907-1990), Tekenaar en Veelzijdig Graficus, Oeuvrecatalogus van de Grafiek.
Susan Adam, Titus M. Eliens, Agnes van den Noort-van Gelder Zwolle (Waanders) 2007
ISBN 978-90-400-8408-9

Back to Artist Catalogue

A Tribute to Rodolphe Bresdin (Hommage à Rodolphe Bresdin) -  VAN GELDER

A Tribute to Rodolphe Bresdin (Hommage à Rodolphe Bresdin)
Etching, 1964, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E125; small edition. 7 1/8 x 8 1/8 in. Signed, dated and titled in the plate, lower left. Signed in pencil. This is a very fine, luminous impression with full margins. The condition is also fine. Van Gelder was inspired by the work of Bresdin and he also was the author of the catalog raisonne published in 2007.
$750

Bloeiende Boomgaard, Taormina (Flowering Orchard, Taormina) -  VAN GELDER

Bloeiende Boomgaard, Taormina (Flowering Orchard, Taormina)
Etching, 1955-56, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E74 (ii/II); edition unknown. 10 1/4 x 9 3/4 in. Signed in pencil within the image, lower left. This is a fine impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is excellent. This is one of several stellar prints van Gelder made based on travels in Sicily.
$1,000

Bosbeek met Schermbloemen (Forest Brook with Umbellifers) -  VAN GELDER

Bosbeek met Schermbloemen (Forest Brook with Umbellifers)
Etching, 1934-1943, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E48 (ii/III); edition unknown. 6 7/8 x 9 1/2 in. Signed in the plate along the bottom at left. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a fine, luminous impression with full margins. The condition is excellent. This exquisite, Bresdin-like etching shows van Gelder's great command of the medium. He was a keen observer of the natural world and he achieved a vision all his own. The detail in this print is quite amazing.
SOLD

Bosbeek, The Netherlands -  VAN GELDER

Bosbeek, The Netherlands
Lithograph, 1925, Adam, Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder L37; small edition. 14 1/8 x 11 3/4 in. Signed on the stone with the artist's monogram. Signed in pencil. This is a fine impression printed on a light tan/grey chine applique. In very good condition apart from a one inch repaired tear in the upper margin and soft handling creases in the upper margin. This lovely and highly detailed work is a nice example of Van Gelder's work.
$1,250

DuneRoses (Duinrozen) -  VAN GELDER

DuneRoses (Duinrozen)
Wood engraving, 1939, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder H167; edition 40. 4 1/8 x 5 in. Signed and numbered in pencil. This a fine impression with full margins. The condition is excellent. The artist was particularly fond of flowers as they appear in his lithographs, etchings and wood engravings. Nature was van Gelder's main source of inspiration.
$400

Forest Pond (Bosvijver) -  VAN GELDER

Forest Pond (Bosvijver)
Lithograph, 1929, Adam, Eliens, van den Noort-van Gelder, L58, small edition. 7 5/8 x 6 1/2 in. Initialed and dated on the stone, lower left. Signed and titled in pencil. This is a superb impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist always maintained close ties to The Hague: His father was the founder of the Gemeentemuseum and Director there from 1912-1941. Furthermore, the artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984.
$750

Gorge near Taormina (Gorge near Taormina, Sicily) -  VAN GELDER

Gorge near Taormina (Gorge near Taormina, Sicily)
Etching, 1975, Adam, Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E129; small edition. 11 1/2 x 12 3/16 in. Signed and dated in the plate. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a fine impression printed on a light tan chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is excellent. This is a superb example of his work. Van Gelder first visited Sicily in the late 1920s and it continued to inspire him years later. Early drawings were often the basis for later etchings.
$1,300

Gorge, Taormina (Berkloof in Taormina, Sicily) -  VAN GELDER

Gorge, Taormina (Berkloof in Taormina, Sicily)
Etching, 1930, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E17; small edition. 7 5/8 x 5 1/2 in. Signed and dated in pencil. This is a superb impression in fine condition. The margins are full. This is an exquisite and rare rare early work. The artist returned to this exact location and did a similar print in 1981.
SOLD

Lush green vegetation (Garden with Birds) -  VAN GELDER

Lush green vegetation (Garden with Birds)
Wood engraving, 1943, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder H170; small edition. 6 1/4 x 4 1/4 in. Initialed in the block and initialed in pencil. This a fine impression in fine condition. The margins are full. This exquisite wood engraving by van Gelder was inspired by a Brussels tapestry from circa 1550 by Willem de Pannemaker (active 1535-1578).
$400

Oak Trees in Wassenaar (Eikenbomen in Wassenaar) -  VAN GELDER

Oak Trees in Wassenaar (Eikenbomen in Wassenaar)
Etching, 1932, Adam/Eliens/vandenNoort-vanGelder E37; small edition. 6 3/4 x 8 5/8 in. Initialed in the plate, lower right. Signed in pencil. This is a superb impression printed on a light gray chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. This a lovely image rendered in a traditional 17th century Dutch manner.
$700

School Gardens (on the grounds near the Museum den Haag) Schooltuinen (op het terrein van het huidige Museon Den Haag) -  VAN GELDER

School Gardens (on the grounds near the Museum den Haag) Schooltuinen (op het terrein van het huidige Museon Den Haag)
Lithograph, 1928 (1949?), Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder L52; edition 10. 12 3/8 x 9 1/2 in. Signed on the stone with the artist's monogram, lower left. The number 49 appears in the lower right corner of the image. The print is signed and numbered in pencil. This is a fine impression with full margins. There's a repaired tear in the upper edge of the margin, far from the image. Also, the top edge verso shows some thin spots. The catalogue dates this to 1928. The meaning of "49" in the lower right corner refers to the artist documenting his 49th lithograph.
$900

Siciliaans Landschap (Sicilian Landscape) -  VAN GELDER

Siciliaans Landschap (Sicilian Landscape)
Etching, 1935-36, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E 058 (ii/II), small edition. 7 1/4 x 10 1/8 in. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a superb impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. Van Gelder's editions are very small, unfortunately. In addition to his oustanding graphic work, van Gelder is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Rudolph Bresdin.
SOLD

Sneeuw, Veere (Snow, Veere, Holland) -  VAN GELDER

Sneeuw, Veere (Snow, Veere, Holland)
Lithograph, 1941, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder L66; edition unknown. 17 3/8 x 13 1/4 in. Signed and dated on the stone. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a superb impression in fine condition. The margins are full. This exquisite and beautifully drawn lithograph was published by VAEVO "de Vereeniging tot Bevordering van het Aesthetisch Element in het Voortgezet Onderwijs, voor schoolversiering" (the Society for Promotion of the Aesthetic Element in Secondary Education). Van Gelder's interest in lithography occupied the early part of his career and this is the last one described in the raisonne.
SOLD

The Dinkel  -  VAN GELDER

The Dinkel
Etching, 1934, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E45; small edition. 6 1/4 x 8 1/2 in. Signed and dated in the plate, lower right. Signed in pencil. This is a very fine impression with full margins. The condition is excellent. The Dinkel is a long river which covers Germany and the Netherlands.
$550

Three Trees (Drie Bomen) -  VAN GELDER

Three Trees (Drie Bomen)
Etching with roulette, 1974, Adam/Eilens/van den Noort-van Gelder E128; small edition. 8 7/8 x 10 7/8 in. Signed and dated in the plate. Signed in pencil. This is a fine impression printed on light gray chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is excellent. Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984.
$1,100


Also available from van Gelder: van Gelder engravings for sale, van Gelder etchings for sale, van Gelder lithographs for sale, van Gelder wood-engravings for sale, van Gelder prints for sale

Back to Artist Catalogue

Back to top


William P. Carl Fine Prints

P.O. Box 14688, Durham, NC 27709
TEL: (919) 294-8228 - CELL: (413) 221-2383
E-mail: WPCARL@aol.com