Recent Acquisitions

Pages: < back [ 1 - 2 - 3 ]

Cat and Busybody -  SPRUANCE

Cat and Busybody
BENTON SPRUANCE
American, (1904-1962)
Lithograph, 1933, Fine/Looney 85, edition 33. 11 x 13 3/8 in. Initialed and dated on the stone, lower right. Signed, numbered and titled in pencil. This is a fine impression of this uncommon print. The margins are full. The condition is fine apart from some handling creases in the wide margins and stray printers ink in upper right margin.
$2,800

Forest Pond (Bosvijver) -  VAN GELDER

Forest Pond (Bosvijver)
DIRK VAN GELDER
Dutch, (1907-1990)
Etching, 1929, Adam, Eliens, van den Noort-van Gelder, L58, small edition. 7 5/8 x 6 1/2 in. Initialed and dated in the plate, lower left. Signed and titled in pencil. THis is a superb impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist always maintained close ties to The Hague: His father was the founder of the Gemeentemuseum and Director there from 1912-1941. Furthermore, the artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984.
$900

Greenwich Park -  WHISTLER

Greenwich Park
JAMES A. MCNEILL WHISTLER
American, (1834-1903)
Etching and drypoint, 1859, Glasgow catalogue 41 (iii/III), Kennedy 35 5 x 7 15/16 in. Signed in the plate, lower left. This is a fine, rich impression printed on thin, cream Japanese paper. The margins are full. This lovely landscape print is known in 38 impressions in the Glasgow catalogue. The sitters have not been indentified.
$2,500

Fertility -  WOOD

Fertility
GRANT WOOD
American, (1891-1942)
Lithograph, 1939, Cole 15, Johnson 14; edition 250. 9 x 11 3/4 in. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a superb impression with full margins. The condition is flawless. This is one of Wood's finest prints and was printed by George Miller on RIVES paper.
$9,500

Pages: < back [ 1 - 2 - 3 ]

top of page


William P. Carl Fine Prints

P.O. Box 14688, Durham, NC 27709
TEL: (919) 294-8228 - CELL: (413) 221-2383
E-mail: WPCARL@aol.com