Dirk van Gelder prints for sale

We are pleased to present this selection of fine prints by the celebrated Dutch artist, Dirk van Gelder. His prints are rare even in Holland today as his edition sizes were usually quite small. He excelled in lithography, etching and wood engraving and was also a superb watercolor painter. In conjunction with the 100th anniversary of the artist's birth, a catalogue raisonne was published in 2007 by the Gemeentemuseum in The Hague, Netherlands. This book is referenced below.

Van Gelder was a masterful draughtsman in the tradition of Seghers, Rembrandt, and Bresdin. In fact, he is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Bresdin's etchings which was published in 1976. The artist always maintained close ties to The Hague: His father was the founder of the Gemeentemuseum and Director there from 1912-1941. Furthermore, the artist taught at the city's Royal Academy of Art from 1952-1972 and he helped establish the Hague Etching Club in 1984.

Nature was van Gelder's main source of inspiration. In the tradition of Durer and inspired by the 19th century romantics, he carefully and methodically observed what he etched and the results are really quite remarkable. Landscapes, plant and flower studies, birds and assorted garden creatures are all part of his repertoire. Even typography became important when he was focusing on his many ex libris designs produced in wood engraving. Dirk van Gelder was a printmaker extraordinaire and we are pleased to offer several examples of his work.

(Keep in mind; the images on this site are low resolution images produced out of necessity. The actual works of art are far more detailed and exacting than our on-line images suggest. We welcome any inquiry you may have.)

Reference:
Dirk van Gelder (1907-1990), Tekenaar en Veelzijdig Graficus, Oeuvrecatalogus van de Grafiek.
Susan Adam, Titus M. Eliens, Agnes van den Noort-van Gelder Zwolle (Waanders) 2007
ISBN 978-90-400-8408-9

Back to Artist Catalogue

Bergkloof bij Taormina (Gorge near Taorimina) -  VAN GELDER

Bergkloof bij Taormina (Gorge near Taorimina)
Etching, 1975, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E129 (ii/II); edition unknown. 11 1/2 x 12 3/16 in. Signed and dated in the plate. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a fine impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is very good. (There's a soft crease in the upper margin.) This is a superb example of his work. Van Gelder first visited Sicily in the late 1920s and it continued to inspire him years later. Early drawings were often the basis for later etchings.
SOLD

Bloeiende Boomgaard, Taormina (Flowering Orchard, Taormina) -  VAN GELDER

Bloeiende Boomgaard, Taormina (Flowering Orchard, Taormina)
Etching, 1955-56, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E74 (ii/II); edition unknown. 10 1/4 x 9 3/4 in. Signed in pencil within the image, lower left. This is a fine impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is excellent. This is one of several stellar prints van Gelder made based on travels in Sicily.
$1,000

Bosbeek met Schermbloemen (Forest Brook with Umbellifers) -  VAN GELDER

Bosbeek met Schermbloemen (Forest Brook with Umbellifers)
Etching, 1934-1943, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E48 (ii/III); edition unknown. 6 7/8 x 9 1/2 in. Signed in the plate along the bottom at left. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a fine, luminous impression with full margins. The condition is excellent. This exquisite, Bresdin-like etching shows van Gelder's great command of the medium. He was a keen observer of the natural world and he achieved a vision all his own. The detail in this print is quite amazing.
SOLD

Dierenschedels op Grasgrond (Animal Skulls in the Meadow) -  VAN GELDER

Dierenschedels op Grasgrond (Animal Skulls in the Meadow)
Wood engraving, 1947, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder H176; edition 150. 5 1/2 x 7 in. Initialed and dated in the block and signed in pencil, lower right. This is a very fine, crisp impression printed on off-white wove paper. The margins are full. The condition is very good apart from a soft crease in the left margin. Van Gelder was inspired by an exhibition of English wood engravings which he saw in The Hague in 1937. This was his primary printmaking technique until the early 1950s.
$500

Siciliaans Landschap (Sicilian Landscape) -  VAN GELDER

Siciliaans Landschap (Sicilian Landscape)
Etching, 1935-36, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E 058 (ii/II), small edition. 7 1/4 x 10 1/8 in. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a superb impression printed on chine applique. The margins are full and the condition is fine. Van Gelder's editions are very small, unfortunately. In addition to his oustanding graphic work, van Gelder is the author of the catalogue raisonne of Rudolph Bresdin.
SOLD

Sneeuw, Veere (Snow, Veere, Holland) -  VAN GELDER

Sneeuw, Veere (Snow, Veere, Holland)
Lithograph, 1941, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder L66; edition unknown. 17 3/8 x 13 1/4 in. Signed and dated on the stone. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a superb impression in fine condition. The margins are full. This exquisite and beautifully drawn lithograph was published by VAEVO "de Vereeniging tot Bevordering van het Aesthetisch Element in het Voortgezet Onderwijs, voor schoolversiering" (the Society for Promotion of the Aesthetic Element in Secondary Education). Van Gelder's interest in lithography occupied the early part of his career and this is the last one described in the raisonne.
SOLD

Sunflower (Zonnenbloem) -  VAN GELDER

Sunflower (Zonnenbloem)
Lithograph, 1925, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder L29, edition unknown. 30 1/4 x 21 1/2 in. Signed on the stone with the artist's monogram, lower left. This is a fine impression in fine condition. The margins are wide and probably full. This large, rare, early lithograph was published by "de Vereeniging tot Bevordering van het Aesthetisch Element in het Voortgezet Onderwijs, voor schoolversiering" (the Society for Promotion of the Aesthetic Element in Secondary Education). This group was founded in 1908 and included work by M.C. Escher, Jessurun de Mesquita and others. Van Gelder was an artistic prodigy and this remarkable print was done when he was only eighteen years old.
SOLD

Sunflower (Zonnenbloem) -  VAN GELDER

Sunflower (Zonnenbloem)
Lithograph, 1925, Adam/Eliens/van denNoort-van Gelder L29, edition unknown. 30 1/4 x 21 1/2 in. Signed on the stone with the monogram, lower left. This is a fine impression with substantial margins. The condition is very good apart from faint light toning and occasional specks of foxing in the margins. There are pinholes in the four corners outside the image. This large, rare early lithograph was published by "de Vereeniging tot Bevordering van het Aesthetisch Element in het Voortgezet Onderwijs, voor Schoolversiering," (The Society for Promotion of the Aesthetic Element in Secondary Education.) This group was founded in 1908 and included work by M.C.Escher, Jessurun de Mesquita, Henri van der Stok, among others. (This is the second state of two with the VAEVO monogram added in the lower right.) Van Gelder was an artistic prodigy and this remarkable print was done when he was only eighteen.
SOLD

Weegbree (Plantain) -  VAN GELDER

Weegbree (Plantain)
Etching, 1974-1985, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E127.5 (iii/III); edition unknown. 7 13/16 x 11 5/8 in. Signed and dated in the plate. Signed in pencil, lower right. This is a fine impression printed with tone. The margins are full and the condition is excellent. Dureresque in detail, this exquisite study of weeds is a fine example of van Gelder's later work.
$750

Winter, Dode vogel en takken, (Dead Bird Among the Branches) -  VAN GELDER

Winter, Dode vogel en takken, (Dead Bird Among the Branches)
Etching, 1978, Adam/Eliens/van den Noort-van Gelder E131 (ii/III); edition unknown. 8 1/8 x 13 1/4 in. Signed in the plate, lower right. Signed in pencil by the artist's daughter, lower left. This is a fine impression in fine condition. The margins are full. Rendered with great precision, this intricate etching shows the artist as a great observer of the natural world.
$850


Also available from van Gelder: van Gelder engravings for sale, van Gelder etchings for sale, van Gelder lithographs for sale, van Gelder wood-engravings for sale, van Gelder prints for sale

Back to Artist Catalogue

Back to top


William P. Carl Fine Prints

P.O. Box 14688, Durham, NC 27709
TEL: 919-294-8228 - CELL: (413) 221-2383

E-mail: WPCARL@aol.com